Skip to content

Moonlight Drive-In, Titusville, FL

March 7, 2009
by

I spent the better part of two days looking for a place in Titusville to get a good authentic dog.  Unfortunately GPS took me to three different places all of which when I got there were either not food establishments at all or were now Mexican joints.  No offense to those of you who like Mexican, but if I’m not close to home or hauling a port-o-pot behind me, I’m not going Mexican.

I had all but given hope that I would find a place to try when I drove by the Moonlight Drive-In on A1A.  This placed had promise.   I immediately liked the look of it from the outside… old school looking.

Moonlight Moonlight1

This is your old drive you member from American Grafitti days… trays on your window with your food, car hops up to your window to take you order, and good fried food.  They had a wide range of options, even fried clams which crossed my mind, but I was there to sample the dogs.  Not a lot of range in the dogs, just like the place, they were served hot and simple.  You can get regular condiments on them, or chili and cheese.  I went with the foot long with chili and onions.  Foot longs are extra special… it’s like dating two hot twins at the same time.  You can taste it from both ends, in the middle, or just sit back and let is take up the entire front seat.

IMG00062

I ordered some onion rings for accompaniment and a Diet Coke to wash it down.  A lot of people question how I can eat hot dogs, onion rings, and cheese fries and still order a diet soda.  It’s quite simple, I don’t want to be overly indulgent, so I draw a line with the drink.  All in all, I’m glad I found the Moonlight.  I definitely wold have left Titusville disappointed had I not found this place and I wish we had something like this a little closer to me back in Ohio.  We do have Skyway down in Akron, but it’s a good 45 minute drive and not a place I would go to a few times a week.  The Moonlight has that old mom and pop feel to it and if I were a native to Titusville, I would easily be there 2–3 times per week.

Moonlight Drive-In Restaurant on Urbanspoon

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2009 9:30 am

    So let’s see, CMO. 25 dogs–that’s a silver anniversary, right?

  2. Banksy permalink
    March 23, 2009 11:02 pm

    It is silver… but it’s an inaccurate TOTAL count. It’s only the dogs I’ve eaten at places I intend to review. If I added in the dogs made at home and ones I’ve eaten from local joints that I have not intended to review yet, I’d say the count is more around 50-60.

  3. November 11, 2011 11:20 am

    HAHA! Why on earth were you in Titusville? Glad you found Moonlight, I want to build them a website so your GPS situation doesn’t happen to anyone else! It is interesting how many blogs I am finding about the place. Lived here all my life and always love some Moonlight. The peanut butter milkshake is awesome too!

    • November 15, 2011 7:43 pm

      hey Shannon, hate to say it but Banksy stopped writing for the blog so I’ll reply in his stead (Banksy, if you’re reading this we’d love to have you back!). He travels a lot for work, and it seemed like he did a lot of traveling well of the beaten path–honestly this guy could have a blog just for the great places he’s eaten all over the States. As for peanut butter milkshake, sign me up!

      • Banksy permalink
        November 19, 2011 10:44 am

        Sorry, like Mike said, I was travelling when the post came in and didn’t recall my password (it’s saved on my home PC) but Mike’s filled it in pretty good. I do need to get back to contributing though. I was in a neat place this week in Corona, CA and the owner turned out to be from my hometown in Pennsylvania (small world.)

        • November 21, 2011 12:26 pm

          yes Banksy, indeed! Like I said, we’d love to have you back anytime. Seen all those photos you plant on facebook to make me jealous . . . .

  4. October 20, 2013 6:57 am

    Hey come by and try our Hot Dogs & Sausages at Lowe’s Titusville & Italian Ice!!!

    • Banksy permalink*
      October 20, 2013 7:18 pm

      If my travels ever bring me back to Titusville, I will give it a try.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

