Skip to content

Jersey Dogs With A Side Of Something Better

September 9, 2008

So Ali and I went to Long Beach Island, NJ for 2 weeks in August for our summer vacation.  Naturally, I thought this would be a good time to search out some Jersey shore dogs.  To be frank (yes, i used that pun), I really wasn’t crazy about any of the dogs.  Most places cater to the sea food crowd; others just didn’t put the love into the dogs.  But the places were memorable for other reasons.  So here’s the rundown of the trip.

The first place we hit when we got into town was a good ole’ traditional Irish pizzeria called O’Malleys Pizza & Grill.  I ordered the Italian hot dog.  It was huge, as an Italian hot dog should be, but the dog tasted like it was boiled and then grilled a little.  But it was good for a quick dinner.

The Beach Haven Fishery was an interesting and expensive seafood takeout place.  The main courtyard was filled with picnic tables.  A teenager sat with two keyboards playing Roundabout by Yes, and some of the smoothest jazz around.  The hot dog was ok, and served on a square ciabatta roll, which was kind of cumbersome and not conducive to hot dog eating.  The seafood, however, was pretty great.  Ali and our friends, Mike and Tishana, got scallops, and mussels (both white and red sauce).  I got a fried soft shell crab sandwich.  Here’s a picture of me with the dog and some Manhattan clam chowda.

  I saw these sausages at a great market/cafe called the Pearl St. Market.  I didn’t buy it but thought it looked interesting.  Remember, no discrimination against encased meats.

 

 

 

 

Ali’s parents also came down for a night.  I grilled up some franks that my father gave me.  He had them in his freezer and said “Here, take these, they’re gourmet dogs.”  I think they were from Omaha Steaks, in which case, they are officially called “Gourmet Franks.”  So I cooked up some franks and a couple of small pork chops, also from Omaha.  Top this off with some corn-on-the-cob and some macaroni salad and you gotcher self a bbq!

 

 

 

 

 

 

So this vacation coincided with our anniversary.  Seven years deserves a special meal to commemorate the enduring power of love, trust, and friendship.  What better place than a snack bar?  We got to this place about 5 minutes before they closed, but they seated us anyway.  Ordered a frank, which they put on a flat grill.  Got a couple of burgers and fries.  The pies at this place, however, seem to be what people come for.  I got a slice of keylime pie.  It was pretty outstanding.  Amazing crust and pretty tart.  As the sign says, “Home of the Homemade Snacks!”  We ate the whole meal in about 10 minutes.  I’m so damn romantic it hurts.  In summary, a great vacation!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Sam permalink
    September 12, 2008 12:38 pm

    That is ALOT of hot dogs for one vacation, my friend. Mike has many friends who love the weenie, but none so much as you……

  2. November 20, 2010 10:52 am

    I really like coming back to your site and checking out your links..you guys really did a great job on tracking down so many hot dog stands. I am looking in NJ and noticed only one in Long Beach, NJ. Have you ever visited Rutt’s Hut in Clifton, N.J.? They have the famous “Ripper”, shown here http://sodiesinc.com/archives/119 They don’t seem to have their website up yet although they do have a website address http://www.ruttshut.com/ but nothing is posted that is up to date. Here is some information on Rutt’s Hut. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rutt's_Hut

    • November 23, 2010 2:33 pm

      I don’t think Alex has been there & I haven’t, though will hopefully be going soon–it’s about a 12 minute drive from my sister-in-law’s house, so someday soon you’ll see a post about the famous rippers!

      • brooklynalex permalink*
        November 23, 2010 6:27 pm

        i ate at rutt’s in the pre-blog days. i remember not ordering by name (ripper, annihilator, or whatever). i think i just ordered a hot dog. actually, i ate about 4 or 5 of them, as they were very easy to eat. i’m not a big deep-fried guy but they were pretty tasty.

  3. November 26, 2010 12:03 am

    I will be looking forward when you do visit Rutt’s Hut. Going back in the 70s I had been introduced to the “Ripper” and found it to be pretty tasty. I come from NYC and having a “Ripper” was quite different for me since I was used to Sabretts more than Nathans. It must be pretty awesome to have the opportunity to check out so many different places to find the best hot dog and travel on top of it. Great jobs guys!!

Leave a Reply

