Skip to content

Hot Dog Annie’s

November 8, 2008
by

At the beginning of the semester, I was at an event welcoming new students to our school’s program. We had to introduce ourselves and say something about the person who spoke before us. One of my colleagues announced that I wrote a blog for our library but also wrote a blog about hot dogs.  After the program, a student came up to me and asked if I had been out to Hot Dog Annie’s in Leicester. It was her hometown hot dog stand and she raved about it, saying people who have moved away miss their hot dog stands the most. Since I hadn’t been out there, I put it on my list and decided I had to go.

It took me a few months but it’s now off my list. It certainly was worth the drive! Hot Dog Annie’s smacks of a small-town stand, with dogs running around a buck and the menu limited to three types of dog and a few iterations of burgers.

I had to try each type of dog and Sam went for the burger. The specialty of Annie’s is their BBQ sauce, with the other condiment options limited mustard, raw onions, and relish. “The Works” with BBQ sauce was the best combo but BBQ sauce alone was pretty good too, with big hunks of onion mixed in with the sweet sauce.

I wish I could remember the name of the student who told me about this stand, because I’d like to thank her for telling me about Hot Dog Annie’s. I’ll be back if I’m ever called out to Western Mass to help my friend Tim clean out his parent’s house.



2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2008 1:04 am

    Hot Dog Annie’s is in Central, Mass; not Western, Mass.
    Huge difference.

    • Mike permalink*
      December 22, 2008 9:10 pm

      Thanks for the note Annie. I re-read the post and saw where you got that from, but I wasn’t referring to the location of the stand. I was referring to me stopping in Leicester because I was on my way to help a friend in Western Mass.

Leave a Reply

