Skip to content

The Saddest Weenie Wagon

November 27, 2008
by

The content of this post has been removed.  For further information, please see the post “The Saddest Weenie Wagon”–where did it go?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Greg permalink
    June 9, 2009 12:23 am

    I know who was ruuning the truck that day, and he was going through a rough time for a while. It was noted it was not good for buisness. The truck has never changed hands in over 17 yrs. Same owner, A good friend of mine.
    Sorry you did not have a pleasent experiance.

    • June 9, 2009 8:52 am

      Thanks for the reply, Greg. Sorry to hear that the guy was going through a rough time, hopefully things are looking up for him and your friend’s business.

  2. June 9, 2009 5:05 pm

    Hey, Mike…

    I still recall our conversation from when you stopped in before your interview…

    I won’t bother commenting on what my friend Greg wrote, as I feel it is patently wrong, but opinions differ.

    I believe you did not comprehend what I was saying to you in reply to your questions, as it was you who was engaging me in conversation. Running the Weenie Wagon is a difficult job, and I was running it until I could decide on a career path that was obtainable given the current market; nothing against the Weenie Wagon, but it does not afford an independent lifestyle, nor is it as steady a job as others might be. I certainly did make fun of the fact that I was running the Weenie Wagon, but that’s because I never thought I would be doing anything of the sort—who really gets to sell hot dogs out of the back of a vintage 1931 Ford Model A truck that he drives down to its spot on Washington Street every day. It’s absurd, and as I have learned, life can be very absurd, and I do not think that outlook is a negative minded one, just different than the one most, and possibly yourself, carry. Like any other job, there are positives and negatives associated with running the wagon… and on that particular day, the negatives were that it was cold, and there was little business to be had.

    The hot dogs Mike sells are Old Neighborhood brand. When people I do not know come along, and start talking to me about the wagon, and in particular, inquire about the business side of things, I am wary to share any information. I can’t tell you how many times people have asked for specifics on how they might be able to copy Mike’s business model to a t, and I never entertain such discussions. Perhaps if I had seen you again, or I felt like talking more at length, we could have stemmed these misunderstanding between us.

    As for, “the customers in town were not good,” that is not something I would say. Mike’s business has suffered, as of late, because repeat business is down, the construction industry is depressed, the old Grossman’s lot has been closed, and, on that day, many people would rather not suffer the cold weather to get a hot dog in November.

    Perhaps, in your estimation, I was the saddest hot dog vendor you’ve ever seen. However, I feel it is a rude commentary to make. Just because you might not understand something doesn’t mean that what you conjecture about it is necessarily true, in absence of whatever the truth might be.

    The new guy running the Weenie Wagon is nothing like me, which might come as a welcoming thought to you. He’s very happy-go-lucky, and I encourage you to visit the truck again, and to give the Weenie Wagon a second review. I respectfully ask that you remove the negative commentary associated with me, as it is unfair to Mike’s business; as an agent of Mike, I was paid to serve hot dogs. You asked questions which I responded to on a personal level. Perhaps you were looking for smaller talk than I could muster up on that day, or I was more philosophical than you would like… but tastes and opinions differ.

    In any case, I am glad to see you got the job (I’m a patron of the library, and do remember your face), and I hope you’re doing well.

Trackbacks

  1. A weekend of weenies denied « The Hot Dog I Ate
  2. “The Saddest Weenie Wagon”–where did it go? « The Hot Dog I Ate

Leave a Reply

