Skip to content

A weekend of weenies denied

December 4, 2008
by

So after the extremely disappointing experience at the “saddest weenie wagon” Sam and I drove to the Philly area to celebrate Thanksgiving with her family. I got my fill of cheese steak and had a Thanksgiving dinner that couldn’t be beat (thank you, Arlo) but really wanted to stop by Super Duper Weenie in Fairfield CT on the way home.

While travelng down, Sam and I stopped at a rest stop along the highway near New Haven and found this abandoned hot dog tent. I think it’s a pretty good runner-up for the saddest weenie stand, n’est pas?

Leaving Jersey, we left plenty of time to get to SDW before they closed at 8pm–or so we thought! I’ll admit, part of it was my fault as I took the long way there, but the big hurdle in our way to hot dog bliss was ten mile’s worth of standstill traffic leading to the Tappan Zee Bridge. Alas, we arrived at exit 25 an hour past closing. Damn you NYC traffic, you’ve foiled me yet again! Next year I promise to leave six full hours before SDW even opens and by then you will have your blog post about my #2 all-time hot dog stand.

Leave a Reply

