Skip to content

Hot Diggity Dog!

April 7, 2009

For the past few years, I have driven past a place called Hot Diggity Dog on my way home from work.  And for some reason I can’t explain, I never stopped there.  I finally came to my senses last night and walked to the South (Park) Slope/Windsor Terrace neighborhood.  The planets must have  been aligned or something, because I sent a text to Mike saying I was trying a new place, and he wrote back saying that he was also on his way to try a new dog.  It makes me think that we’re probably twins separated at birth.

hot-diggity-dog-011

Yes, that is a glowing Brooklyn Bridge over the sign!  So I have tried to do a little online research of this place, but it doesn’t look like the have a website.  What I did find was that this place was apparently mentioned on the Martha Stewart Show when she did an entire episode dedicated to hot dogs.  The place is small, only about 8 stools, but always seems to have people hanging out inside and outside.  This also seems to be the hangout for kids getting out of the high school down the street, as they have after-school meal specials on the menu.  Ok, so, when I got there, I was very excited by what I saw on the menu.

hot-diggity-dog-002

My eyes immediately went to the Windsor Weenie…a dog wrapped in pastrami, and topped with sauerkraut, swiss cheese, and mustard.  The whole place had this red and yellow color scheme, which must have had the psychological effect of making me hungrier.  I started with the Windsor.  They use Boar’s Head dogs on a flat grill; very tasty.  They had it ready for me fairly quickly, and I had this great rush of sauerkrat tanginess and spicy mustard.  Afterwards, I got hit with the swiss, and then the meats.  This thing was like a hot dog topped with a Reuben sandwich.

hot-diggity-dog-004

I was so excited about this find, that I had to get another.  I asked about the Colombian Hot Dog Sandwich.  The guy behind the counter said that it was two hot dogs and topped with everything (he pointed towards the entire toppings station).  I told him I wasn’t quite ready for something like that, and I think he agreed with me.  Not a bad deal for $5 though.  So I decided to go with the Philly Cheesesteak Dog.  Again, pretty awesome.  Chopped steak, whiz, and peppers on a dog.  The cheesesteak itself was pretty good, which only made the addition of a hot dog that much better.  The top of my mouth is still recovering from the cheese.

hot-diggity-dog-006

I didn’t mention to Ali that I had two dogs,but I guess she’ll find out now.  This meal definitely didn’t help my recent mission to eat healthier, but I tried to balance it out by power walking the rest of the way home.  Yo Mike, you’re coming here with me next time you come to town.

Oh, and here was my iPod’s shuffle soundtrack on the way to Hot Diggity: The Band “Lonesome Suzie”, Bob Marley “Who The Cap Fit” “Natty Dread”, Queens of the Stone Age “Make It Wit Chu”, The Bug “Beats, Bombs, Bass, Weapons”, and Black Rebel Motorcycle Club “Devil’s Waitin’.” 

Hot Diggity Dog: 263 Prospect Park West, Brooklyn NY 11215

UPDATE 5/17/10: Well, I have driven on that block a few times recently and, sadly,  it looks like Hot Diggity Dog is no longer around.  It actually looks like 2 buildings, including where Hot Diggity was located, have been turned into a new Christian center.  I’m sure they probably could’ve used some dogs at the new center but I guess they just didn’t have the space.  Adios Hot Diggity…via con dios.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2009 10:52 pm

    Great review! The Windsor weenie sounds yums.

  2. brooklynalex permalink*
    April 7, 2009 10:56 pm

    Whoa! Crazy timing. I just posted this, read it through once, and already there’s a comment! Yes, the Windsor is yums! Go try it!

  3. Banksy permalink
    April 8, 2009 8:51 am

    That menu looks awesome…. I know I haven’t gotten to a new place lately to post a review, other than Nathan’s in Orlando airport… which might I add was pretty crappy. Come on, beans in chili sauce for dogs? I don’t think so, but apparently Nathan’s does.

    I need to get a dog this week… the at home dogs are great, but they just don’t cut it like a nice greasy-hole-in-the-wall-joint. Speaking of joints….

  4. April 8, 2009 1:28 pm

    oh man, your experience was so much better than mine. i’ve got hot dog envy!

Leave a Reply

