Skip to content

A Day Off at Shake Shack

April 15, 2009

I had another day off of work today for the last day of Passover.  The first part of my plan was to go see some Picasso paintings and etchings followed by lunch.  I knew that I was going to end up at either one of two places, either Porchetta for their awesome sounding roast pork sandwich, or Shake Shack to discover a new NYC hot dog.  I decided on hot dogs.

shake-shack-003

Shake Shack is located outdoors in Madison Square Park around 23rd Street.  I did a little bit of reasearch and it seems like this place is all about waiting.  First you wait in line to order, then you wait to get your food.  I think I waited for about 20 minutes to get hot dog, cheeseburger, fries, and a root beer.  If you check out the website, sometimes the lines are ridiculously long.  I ordered the Shack-cago dog, and I must admit here that I’ve never had a Chicago dog before, nor have I been to Chicago.  So it might be a little sacreligious to have my first ‘Chicago’ dog in NYC.  The menu states that this Shack-cago is a “Vienna all beef dog on a poppy seed bun.  Topped with mustard, Rick’s Picks Shake Shack relish, onion, cucumber, pickle, tomato, sport peppers and celery salt. 

shake-shack-005

I really liked this…the relish was sweet, the peppers were hot, the pickle spear was a great addition, and the poppy seeds got all over my hands.  When Ali saw the picture she said “Ooooh, that looks really good!”  Sitting outdoors in an NYC park is a great environment too.  Here is my lunch enjoying the scenery.

shake-shack-008

I enjoyed the cheeseburger and fries but I didn’t really think they were too special.  For my time and money, I’d rather get a fast food burger at Five Guys.  (they have better fries too).  Maybe someone else can tell me how the shakes and custard are at this place.  I did enjoy my lunch however, and am interested in getting an authentic Chicago dog now.  Finally, we see the perspective of the doomed hot dog as it gets eaten by a hungry beast.

  shake-shack-009

UPDATE: 4/5/10:  Well, almost a year to the day and I have basically recreated my day from last year.  Today is the last day of Passover, but this time I decided to go to Porchetta for their roast pork sandwich.  A perfect combination of roast pork, fat, and crispy skin with pork juice seeping into the roll.  So good.  Then I went to check out some works by Ed Paschke.  Followed that up by heading back to Brooklyn, picking up some fresh sweet Italian pork sausage for dinner, and getting a small cup of Cafe au Lait and Cinnamon ice cream at Blue Marble Ice Cream!  Sorry, no photos this time around.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2009 11:34 am

    dang alex, you sure know how to make a guy jealous. there’s only one place better to live for hot dogs (chicago) so i guess i’ll have to move there at some point. anyway, i saw the shake shack somewhere (tv? blog? i can’t remember) and it instantly was filed away in my memory under “places to eat”–but now you’ve beat me to it! love how you can check the webcam to see the line (and it does get ridiculously long!). respect to your choice of a chicago dog, the only thing that’s off about the dog you ate is that the relish isn’t neon green. and what a great action shot (is that a money shot?) of you eating the dog.

  2. Banksy permalink
    April 26, 2009 4:23 pm

    Yeah, I’m a bit jealous that Alex lives in NYC. Very little can compare to a dog from a street vendor. That Chicago dog looks good, but I think it would fail the “looks” test because the relish MUST be neon green. It probably makes little difference in taste, but I’ll admit, it makes it look completely different.

Leave a Reply

