Skip to content

Rondogs

June 3, 2009
by

This week I was up in Salem and had intended on visiting the Boston Hot Dog Company, which I’ve been to before but haven’t featured on this blog.  While reading their Yelp entry (linked above) my eye was drawn to another Yelp review of Rondogs in Beverly, MA.  Why did I decide Rondogs over BHDC?  Three reasons:  first, Rondogs had a Chicago dog, and I was hankering for one; second, you can get a fried hot dog (which I did not get); third, it’s a drive in!

The dogs are all-beef and weigh in at 1/4 lb., which is a pretty hefty dog.  Even though the “gourmet dogs” are a little pricy ($6) I decided to go with two of them because I was pretty hungry and wanted to try a variety.  I started with the Chloe, their Chicago style hot dog.  Unlike most Chicago style dogs I’ve had, this one had some (not unpleasant) bitter flavors to it which could probably be attributed to the relish and grey poupon.   I was happy to be back home with the pickle spear & tomato combo–the only thing missing was the poppy-seed bun.

I chowed through the first dog pretty quick and moved along to the Blake, their take on a chili dog.  This dog is a monster; it took me a few minutes to figure out how I could pick it up without spilling all over my shirt.  Lookie!  The bacon pops out of the bun like a dog’s tongue lolling about.  The jalapenos are perched atop the cheese sauce, which hides the enormous amount of chili and sauteed onions.  The flavor was pretty heavy and erased all memory of the Chicago style dog.  At that point, I was focused on two things:  eating the dog and trying not to splatter its contents all over the car.

At the end, I was pretty happy that I didn’t need to get my car detailed after eating at Rondogs.  This place has entered my list of top dog stands in the area at such a high place that I almost went back after two days because Tim and his soon-to-be brother-in-law Dougie wanted to hit it up.  Even though our plans didn’t go down, we’re sure to be going back soon.  Rondogs is just that good.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. alana permalink
    June 3, 2009 4:30 pm

    BIL-nice blog-first time looking at it! Can’t say i really have a hankering for a hot dog now, but damn sure did enjoy it!

  2. brooklynalex permalink*
    June 3, 2009 6:00 pm

    The Blake looks wonderful. I let out some kind of automatic moan when I saw the picture.

Leave a Reply

