Skip to content

“The Saddest Weenie Wagon”–where did it go?

June 10, 2009
by

I wanted to update everyone and let them know that I’ve removed the content of the post for The Saddest Weenie Wagon.  If you read the comments, which are still up, you’ll see that my post apparently caused some suffering and for that I apologize.  When I started The Hot Dog I Ate, it was in the spirit of having fun and posting about the hot dog, a special part of Americana.  The blog wasn’t intended to take anyone to task; it’s purely meant to provide a milieux for my friends and I to be funny while appreciating vendors who make a superior dog.

That said, I will stress that I’m removing the post content only because it apparently caused some suffering–not because I am rescinding my comments or have had my memory refreshed about the events.  Customer service is a huge part of any retail business.  If you make a superior product but don’t have employees treating your customers right then you can expect the business to suffer.  This can come back and bite a business in the butt, especially in the age of the Internet where customers have a myriad of avenues to relate their experience–good or bad.  But most importantly, if someone comes up to your weenie wagon and says “I write a blog about hot dogs, mind if I take some pictures?” then you might want to stand up and deliver, no matter how bad your day has been.

Leave a Reply

