Skip to content

Love That Dirty Water!

June 16, 2009
by

Back at Fenway again?  Hells yeah!  Sam & I went out to the ballpark last night to watch the Sox tear into the Marlins.  I was amazed to see a family of Marlins fans sitting in front of us–whenever you watch a home game with the Rays or the Marlins it seems like they have to pay people to get them in the stands.  They were dyed-in-the-wool fans, though, and were so upset at the 8 – 2 score that by the top of the eighth they left the park.  Didn’t they want to sing along with Neil Diamond?

To start the night out proper, we had a couple of drinks and some vegetarian nachos at my favorite pre-game hipster watering hole, The Other Side.  You might ask yourself why I would order vegetarian nachos–well, they’re pretty slamming nachos, and I certainly didn’t want too much meat getting in the way of a night spent engorging myself with piggies and cow beefs.

The night at Fenway started with me beelining it to the kosher hot dog vending machine.  Since my last visit the machine has added a new trick to its repetoire:  it’s scoring the hot dogs!  Just a little slit down the length of the dog makes all the difference in the world.  I’m assuming the reason why they’ve started doing this is to release a little bit of the juices from the dog, which bled into the bun a little and added some flavor.  Anyway, this was Sam’s first time of seeing the machine in action, so she got the front seat to watch the craziness.

I offered Sam a bite with a little bit of trepidation at sharing.

Sam had some trepidation of her own, not sure at how the dog would taste (delicious!).

Trepidation be gone!  It’s a winner in her book.

After grabbing a few cups of beer (Guinness, how I love you!) Sam made her most important stop–at the kettle corn stand.  I think she peed her pants a little, she was so excited.

(Insert three innings, during which Papi hit a home run and I sat next to a guy who looked exactly like Bernie Madoff).

After a few rounds, Sam decided to get a sausage.  She went to the vendor and asked if the sausages were any good.  “They’re the best,” he said.  Then this other guy asked him if the Monster Dogs were good.  “They’re the best,” he said.  Sam went with the sausage.

And she was transported into Nirvana.

A picture with the happy couple and their new addition to the family.  I do wish we had sausage races at Fenway like my brother-in-law Kent says they do at Brewers games.  Oh well, I guess I’ll have to make do with Neil Diamond.

After the game Sam found this amazing door tucked into a building along Mass Ave.  Such pretty numbers!

And that’s all I have to say about that.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Banksy permalink
    July 26, 2009 12:43 am

    How manly, singing Neil Diamond at a sporting event. Next think you know they’ll be singing Elton John in Pittsburgh! haha, just pullin’ your chain. I’m back biatches and I got some reviews up my sleeve… Nathan’s Famous in Orlando International, National Coney Island in Detroit Wayne International, and Texas Hot Dog in Tipton, PA!

Leave a Reply

