Skip to content

Nathan’s and the Mermaid Parade

June 21, 2009

It’s been raining for weeks.  What the frig?  Yet people are willing to stand in the rain for over an hour checking out naked mermaids.  I went with Hans and his friend Mike down to Coney Island for the the 27th annual Mermaid Parade.  I was skeptical about going because I don’t like standing around in the rain, and I’m not a big fan of Coney Island.  But this was a lot of fun and we had a great time.  Hans told Mike that I write for the blog, and Mike told me his favorite hot dogs were from a place called Dash Dogs, in Manhattan, which closed down a while back.  We made plans to hit up Nathan’s after the parade.  So first, some photos of the parade, and then some dogs.

Blue Thunder opening up the parade!

Blue Thunder opening up the parade!

Mermaid Parade 019

One of the better nude participants

One of the better nude participants

I wish I was...big.

I wish I was...big.

The very lovely 'Out of Work Supermodels'

The very lovely 'Out of Work Supermodels'

the best hammer pants in the whole parade

the best hammer pants in the whole parade

Rev. Billy from the Church of Stop Shopping

Rev. Billy from the Church of Stop Shopping

So from what Hans told me, there’s a King and Queen of the parade, who throw an offering of fruit into the ocean to appease the ocean gods.  This year, the King was Harvey Keitel!  And of course, my pictures of him suck, and you can’t tell it’s him.  There was a fair amount of nudity, and there’s a lot of people who should not be nude in public.  There were also lots of classic cars, great costumes, an entire troupe of the woman from Flashdance, and many people on stilts.  And then we went to Nathans!

Will Joey Chesnutt successfully defend his title?

Will Joey Chesnutt successfully defend his title?

One side of the enormous Nathan's!

One side of the enormous Nathan's!

There were so many people here today because of the parade.  We managed to go to one of the other sides and found smaller lines.  I guess I never realized that you can get seafood here also.  Frog legs?  A frog legs platter?  1120 calories? 

I'll take the frog legs with chili and cheese.

I'll take the frog legs with chili and cheese.

Long, long lines.  Still not as bad as Shake Shack.

Long, long lines. Still not as bad as Shake Shack.

So I think that NYC is the only place in these here United States where you will find calorie counts on fast food menus (correct me if I’m wrong).  Hans figured out that he will have to run for about 3 miles in order to work off the Bacon Cheese Dog.

Mermaid Parade 057

So I order an Original, topped only with mustard, and a Chili Cheese Dog, and an old fashioned Orangeade.  Hans and Mike both got Bacon Cheese Dogs. 

Original and Chili Cheese

Original and Chili Cheese

Bacon Cheese w/ mustard

Bacon Cheese w/ mustard

Hans wishes he had another Bacon Cheese dog.

Hans wishes he had another Bacon Cheese dog.

The carnivore at work.

The carnivore at work.

Man with hangover eating Bacon Cheese dog.

Man with hangover eating Bacon Cheese dog.

There’s a reason why Nathan’s is a classic.  They consistently churn out tons of great dogs on a daily basis for the past 93 years.   I love toppings but I had to get at least one original with only mustard.  The dogs are all beef and taste great.  I was very pleased with the chili cheese as well.  All in all, a successful classic day in Brooklyn.  Nudity, freaks, and hot dogs. 
One Comment leave one →
  1. June 21, 2009 12:23 pm

    Damn, I wish I’d been there for all that. Was Harvey nude again?

Leave a Reply

