Skip to content

Friends of the Dog

November 23, 2009

So I recently broke the news to Mike that I have to take a hiatus from hot dogs.  According to my doctor, I have high cholesterol.  Nothing so terrible…212.  But I’d like to stay as close to a good diet until I go back again in January.  So until then, no dogs grilled in lard.  However, I have been meaning to post some pictures of friends getting dogs, as well as HD ephemera. 

Way back in April (?) I went to the Bronx Zoo with my friends Mike and Tishana.  I haven’t been there since I was a kid…the pre-blog days.  We went for lunch and for some reason I decided to get a grilled chicken caesar salad?  Huh?  Fortunately, Tish is much smarter than me and went for the dog.  I promised her fame and glory by telling her that I would post the pictures up on the blog.  I mean, tens of people read this everyday!  She revealed to me that she LOVES hot dogs!  This shocked me, because, like, we’ve been BFF’s for, like, over 10 years and stuff.  So as she starts to eat the dog, she talked about how to properly pose with a hot dog in order to get the right shot.

"You need to hold it so it faces the camera..."

The professional at work.

Tish’s brother, Rishi, was also there, but thought it would be too weird to eat a hot dog at the zoo.  Maybe that’s why I went for the salad too, but I’ll never admit it.  Later that summer, Mike and Tish sent me pictures of their trek to a hot dog stand in Somerset, NJ called Big D’s.  It’s right next to New Brunswick, my old stomping grounds at Rutgers University.  I have to get out to this place with them at some point.  Tish said that they got chilli dogs.  According to the owner, a former boxer/rapper/comedian, his dogs are 100% angus beef.  He also won’t share his chilli recipe with anyone, including his own wife.  I gotta try these.  He also serves up some soul food staples like chicken, mac n’ cheese, etc.

Chilli dog and soul food sides

 In addition to actual dogs, my friends have started sending me pictures of hot dogs in our society.  Clearly, hot dogs are the foundation of this great nation.  Here’s one that Herve sent me. 

Does anyone know where this is from?

My friend Sam, not Mrs. Hot Dog Blog Sam, sent me an old photo of a beeeeautiful woman crowned as Miss Hot Dog.

She's giving the man what he really wants.

Finally, my friend Hans sent me a picture a while ago of the sign from Dinghy Dogs on Martha’s Vineyard.  I don’t know if he went there, but they do serve up a “grilled all-beef kosher style hot dog made by Pearl Meat Packing Company in Boston”  on a Martin’s potato roll (according to seriouseats.com from September 2009).  Mike, you should go try this since you’re way closer than me.

So that’s all for now.  Gotta stay healthy for another month or two.  I will be counting down the days though.

Big D’s World Famous Chili Dogs:  715 Rt. 27 South, Somerset NJ 08901

Dinghy Dogs:  12 Circuit Avenue, Vineyard Haven MA 02568

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2009 10:30 am

    oh man, you mean I’m going to have to carry this blog all the way through January? uneasy lies the head that wears a crown and all that, i suppose.

  2. Dinghy Dogs permalink
    December 29, 2009 10:50 am

    Hey! That’s my sign! Next time, make sure you get one (or more) of our senselessy awesome Dinghy Dogs. No, better make that one of our Quarter Pound Big Daddy Dogs. Our motto is “Hot Dogs for Hot Dog People”, and we mean it. No Tourist-Trap Donkey Dogs here! Check us out. Bring your ukelele and we’ll rock out. Wuv, Brian- Hot Dog KING of Martha’s Vineyard.

  3. December 29, 2009 11:07 am

    holy shit, we’ve got our first genuine hot dog king comment! Brian, if I promise to come down this year (2010) and taste your hot dogs will you spot me a uke to play on?

Trackbacks

  1. Attention America: Celebrate July 4th with German, Jewish, and Fireman Dogs! « The Hot Dog I Ate

Leave a Reply

