Skip to content

The Hot Dog I Threw Up

January 14, 2010
by

Okay, so this title is completely unfair to the great guys at Super Duper Weenie in Fairfield, CT.  First, a quick bit of background: I’ve been to the stand before starting the blog and instantly declared it my favorite in Connecticut; since then I’ve tried to hit up their stand the many, many times my wife and I have been driving back to Boston from visiting her family in Jersey; the many times I’ve tried to make it to the stand we’ve either been blocked by traffic or holiday hours at the stand.  So I was so excited that we’d be making it to the stand on our return from our last Jersey visit to my sister-in-law’s that I was actually singing about Super Duper Weenie to my nephews.  That made it all the more crushing when, at one o’clock the next morning, both my wife and I came down with a wicked stomach bug.  As best we can figure, it’s not due to the weenies–Samantha and I didn’t really eat similar items at the stand–but to the flu that went through the family recently.  So, like I said, this title post isn’t fair to the guys at Super Duper Weenie but it’s the truth of the situation (and thanks to my friend AP, who posted about the Crif dog, for coming up with the witty title).  So, forget the title of the post and the disgusting background I just told you and enjoy!

a neon view

It wasn’t a very nice day outside, with the temperature hovering just at freezing with a windchill in the teens, and then it began to snow–and we had another 3 1/2 hours of driving ahead of us.  What better way to relax from the ravages of the road than to come in fom the cold and enjoy the best weenie in Conecticut?  I prefer sitting by the neon sign, looking out on the traffic, but it was just a little cold for that (the door leading outside was constantly opening from the legion of customers) so we sat at the bar, looking over the grill and the varietyof handmade condiments.

the dogs with hand-cut fries

I went with two dogs and the hand-cut fries to start off my lunch.  I must have tried all of their hot dog offerings so far (with the exception of the Georgia Red Hot) so I went with my two favorites this time around: the Dixie Dog & the New Yorker.  All of their dogs are (I believe) pork franks, which they split down the length and grill in large bunches, and served on a regular hot dog bun (not steamed or grilled).

the New Yorker

The New Yorker, which is covered in sauerkraut, onion sauce, hot relish, and a healthy slathering of mustard, is my favorite hands-down.  The hot relish and onion sauce are amazing, with a perfect balance of heat, pickling vinegars and spices.  When I first looked at the dog I thought that the mustard was put on a little thick but it needed to be in order to stand up to the riot of flavors that were going on.

the Dixie Dog

The Dixie Dog, with meat chili and slaw, was my second pick because I’m a sucker for a good slaw dog.  Unfortunately this one was a little forgettable, which is probably whyI went back for a third dog.  The meat chili just didn’t stand up enough to the slaw, which overpowered the flavor of the chili and left me with a sweet dog.  Not to say that it wasn’t good–it just wasn’t good enough to overpower the memories I have of true slaw dogs like Skeeter’s, which have the benefit of being a stand dedicated to producing just one amazing hot dog that they’ve perfected over time.

grrrr! taking on the hot dogs like a champ

the Californian

My third hot dog of the visit, the Californian, was easily the messiest and the most memorable.  It was all heat & spices with chili, hot relish, raw onions, mustard, and a slice of american cheese underneath the dog, which toned down the spices a little.  If I had my druthers, I would have taken off the cheese; it was a vein of processed flavoring that ran the length of the dog, contrasting strongly with the hand-made condiments.  The cheese was also the factor my wife & I first attributed to our illness since it was the only food we shared between the two of us.  Either way, my memories after the fact will lead me to ask for this one without cheese if I decide to go back to that well again.

Regardless of the events that transpired afterwards, I’d still have to say that if you’re traveling on I-95 through Fairfield, or if you live in the area, Super Duper Weenie is the place to be.  It’s a mecca for hot dogs just north of what many consider to be their birthplace in America (New York City), and cranks out a consistent set of delicious and interesting dogs.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

