Skip to content

Homecoming at Willie’s Dawgs

February 16, 2010

I haven’t had a hot dog in 3 or 4 months.  I decided to try to eat as well as I possibly could in order to reduce my cholesterol.  So after much effort, I went from a 212 to a 206!  Part of me is happy that it went down but I wish it was more than 6 points.  After months of effort, which I should say I did actually enjoy, it was time to dip my toes back in the pool that is hot doggery.  I’ve been wanting to go to a nearby Peruvian place to try Solchipapas, a dish that is primarily sliced hot dogs over french fries, and then topped off with whatever else they want.  But I figured that the first dogs that I would eat would have to come from my favorite place, Willie’s Dawgs!

Last week, the big snowstorm that hit south of here finally struck NYC.  I took a day off of work and walked down to Willie’s.  Here’s what my street looked like from my front door:

Mike and I posted pictures before of the two dogs I got, but I think they are so damn good.  I got a very unique dog called the Pickles Jalan which consists of an all beef dog with peanut sauce, Indonesian pickles, and jalapenos on a challah roll. 

The second dog is the Grady, possibly my absolutely favorite dog anywhere.  The consists of an all beef dog with grilled peppers, caramelized onions, jalapenos, ketchup, mustard, and mayo on a challah roll.  I love this dog so much.

I missed you hot dogs.  Even though I’ll be going back to a mostly healthy diet, I will go back to chowing down on some new dogs.  I’m back baby!

Willie’s Dawgs: 351 Fifth Avenue, Brooklyn NY 11215

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2010 9:59 am

    my man! welcome back. do you think your cholesterol didn’t go down because you were thinking about hot dogs the whole time?

  2. Banksy permalink
    February 21, 2010 4:50 pm

    Those look awesome. I hear you about your Cholesterol though, mine is ok, but just on the border at 196. I think they want your overall cholesterol under 199. They also have three other cholesterol marker, HDL, which they want to be greater than 45, VLDL, which should be between 6-40, and LDL, which should between 60-129. I’m within limits (barely) on all but the HDL. I am at 35 there.

    Good luck and welcome back.

  3. brooklynalex permalink*
    February 21, 2010 11:56 pm

    well banksy, the thing that’s got me confused, and angry for some reason, is that my hdl dropped from 40 to 37. i don’t know why, because i’ve been eating a lot of whole grains and anything that basically says ‘heart healthy’ on it. oh well, the best thing i could possibly do now is to go to someplace like Katz’s Deli and order a hot dog and a pastrami sandwich.

Leave a Reply

