Skip to content

a new crop of bloggers

March 17, 2010
by

It must be getting close to spring because people are getting the hot dog fever (also known as the meat sweats).  These past few weeks I’ve run across a few people who are interested in writing about their encounters with encased meats, so I’ve invited them to post about it here.  The first guy I found via an incoming link to our blog; John was writing about his love of hot dogs and gave our blog as an example of some of the high-quality blogs out there that are dedicated to low-grade meats encased in intestines.

Next up is Vince, one of the highly informed employees of Formaggio Kitchen, which is my favorite cheese & specialty food shops to drop a paycheck or two at.  What got me going there was their last Super Bowl sidewalk grill; I had heard about a dog they do called the “Pearl-in-the-Hole,” a half-pound all-beef Pearl frank stuffed in a hollowed-out loaf of Iggy’s french bread.  Who am I to say no to a beauty like that?

After fortifying myself with some beer from the fantastic tasting (Pretty Things, Jolly Pumpkin, & Brooklyn Brewery) Sam & I were warm enough to venture into the cold February weather and wait patiently in line for the chance to try a hot dog (and take home some of their other BBQ).  They had an impressive lineup of condiments, but I had to ask the grill master for his best suggestion and was glad I did.  He loaded up the hollowed-out roll with BBQ sauce and grilled onions and then stuffed the frank into it.  It was a colossal hot dog in the epic proportions of a Speed Dog, with enough dog there to feed both Sam & I.

Last, but certainly not least, is my good friend Lisa who is across the pond as I write, eating some of the best hot dogs in Iceland.  Here’s the most recent tweet she sent me:  “I just ate the best hot dog. Fried onions and lamb meat, condiments, ketchup, sweet mustard, and mayo – all made in Iceland.”  Can’t wait to see the pics!  I had the pleasure of bringing Lisa over to the dark side; she wouldn’t touch a hot dog until she met me.  Muah-ha-ha!

One Comment leave one →
  1. brooklynalex permalink*
    March 18, 2010 10:22 pm

    I hope to post an entry soon from my cousin direct from Colorado! By the way, we need to research possible places out by MassMoca.

Leave a Reply

