Skip to content

The Hot Dog(s) I (am going to eat)

March 21, 2010
by

I said it in my own blog: I’ve always wanted to write about the fine art of The Really Good Dog.

I think the Really Good Dog is an under-appreciated culinary artform. I believe that the hot dog is a near-perfect blank canvas of food, upon which we inflict our gastroartistic whims, based in part on where we live and always on who we are. The RGD is an act of self-expression. It is us saying, Hello, I am bacon, onions and Russian dressing. In three minutes I will also be cole slaw, pastrami and habanero mustard. And a large soda.

So here I am, getting ready to write about every RGD that wanders into my path.

My name is John. I’m a writer by trade and a foodie by passion. I have, as you may have guessed, a weakness for the RGD. I’ve gotten around pretty well, hot-dog-ly speaking. I’ve enjoyed the consummate NYC Papaya King dog and those ever-questionable grey-water dogs at downtown corners. I have supped at Super Duper Weenie in CT. I’ve downed big, sloppy Chicago dogs at Portillo’s (and some nameless little shack just off Michigan Ave.) I often cross the border–the MA/RI border, that is–to get my hot weiner fix. (The kin of the Greek dog.)

I don’t discriminate when it comes to dogs–unless we’re talking about those heretical chicken-and-turkey “dogs.” That’s just wrong. Although I am a boiler by nature, I love a well-griddled dog and nothing tastes better, to my way of thinking, than a dog fire-roasted on  a camping trip with my boy.

My boy, known simply here as Boy, will be my companion on many dog outings. He’s sort of a control–not a big toppings fan, he can assess the flavor purity of the undressed dog. (After which I will, with some reservation, let him put ketchup on it.) I also hope to bring in the well-honed palate of my friend Milkbone–foodie of note and killer blues harp player. When I asked Milkbone to join me in my quests for the RGD he noted in his reply that he had just polished off a double chili-cheese dog burrito.

So you see, the guy’s got some dog cred.

I’m looking forward to being a part of THDIA and to finally do what I’ve meant to do for a long time now: Hunt, devour  and comment on the RGD.

js

3 Comments leave one →
  1. brooklynalex permalink*
    March 21, 2010 9:04 pm

    Welcome! I actually tried posting on your blog but it wouldn’t let me for some reason. I wanted to tell you that I also tried the dog at Slots ‘o Fun in Vegas. I have to say, however, that it was one of my most unpleasant gray meat experiences. I took a photo op with my friend, took a bite, then threw it away. Maybe it was just a bad night I was there, but I have the feeling it wasn’t. Anyway, looking forward to reading your posts!
    alex

    • March 23, 2010 4:40 pm

      most def second Alex’s comments. Brilliant new acronym to use! Looking forward to reading more. Possibly will have to arrange a meeting of the minds, possibly at the Boston hot dog mecca: Speed’s. What do you guys think?

      • John permalink*
        March 24, 2010 12:35 pm

        A hot dog summit, held at a mecca! I’m all over that one.

Leave a Reply

