Skip to content

Texas Wieners

May 2, 2010
by

The Entrance to Texas WienersI was almost disappointed today.  I had worked 6 days this week and almost 70 hours. I was looking to my first day off in Southern Jersey, and since I couldn’t get home to Boston, had my sights squarely set on visiting Texas Wieners. Upon visiting the web site to check out the fine fine encased meat extravaganza that I was about to enjoy…. GULP.  CLOSED ON SUNDAYS.

In my head, I thought, “There is NO way a Hot Dog stand could be closed on a Sunday… right?  right??? (see the image to the left). Not in a bustling Collingswood neighborhood littered with shoppers and people dying for a nice meal. Not with the Train Station less than a quarter of a mile away…. right?”. So I decided to call. A very bubbly girl answered the phone and told me that this was the first day that Texas Wieners were to be open on a Sunday! They were open until 6pm! The hot dog gods were looking down on me that day my friend, looking down hard. That was the last time I almost felt disappointed today.

BACKSTORY: Unfortunately, due to my work, I am living in Southern New Jersey temporarily. There aren’t many positives to living down here, I’ll be honest. There is traffic every where, I am away from my wife and friends, and most of all, there are no left turns allowed… like anywhere. Whats up with that? Seriously? I am pretty sure that my good friend Mike (owner of this blog) was excited for two reasons. 1) I was close to his in-laws, so if he had to come and visit, he’d have a place to escape. Don’t get me wrong, they are some good peeps. But, if confronted with hanging out with your in-laws or your friend with whom you could drink copious amounts of beer, we all know what we would pick. 2) I live in a whole new and yet unexplored region of hot dogs. This blog has been more focused in the Boston, New York and Chicago areas. Philly is a whole new ballgame. I feel sort of used. And I like it. END BACKSTORY.

The Bar Seating at Texas Weiners

On the inside of the restaurant, sat a large bar area surrounded by several tables . Behind the bar sat everything I was hoping to see in a hot dog joint. We had the soda fountain, milkshake blender and local soda including creme soda and root beer. I was politely greeted by the same bubbly teenager that answered the phone a few hours earlier. She was busy helping other patrons, so I decided to look over the rather large (and extremely cheap) menu. The most expensive thing on the menu was $3.28. I am still trying to figure out how they got to $3.28 and not $3.25 or $3.30… but to each his own I guess.

I decided to order the Texan and the “Combo with the Works”. That is right my friends, that would be a hot dog with a fish cake! How was it? Well, we  will get to that after the photos of this fine fine fare.

The Texan. Split-Grilled Hot Dog, with grilled onions and peppers, and a hash brown patty.

The "Combo"

The "Combo"- Split-Grilled Hot Dog with a fish cake, grilled onions and the owner's secret greek sauce!

I went for the simpler, and I’ll say it…. less scary hot dog. The Texan. Fresh Grilled onions, pepper and hot dogs were coupled with a hash brown. Condiments? Not necessary. The hot dog was juicy enough combined with the peppers and onions. She asked if I wanted mustard, and I responded with “Why ruin it?”. The next step was to try the fish cake combo. Mike had suggested it, and since his lovely wife Sam lives a mere 2 miles from this place, I KNOW for a fact that he is scared of it. It consisted of a split-grilled hot dog, fresh fish cake, grilled onions and the owners “special Greek sauce”. In the words of my good friend Jake, it was EPIC.

The Walk Up to the Texas Wiener

Walking up to Greatness

I’ll admit, I was very skeptical of this hot dog combination. I’ve seen many combo’s before… hot dogs and sausage, hot dogs and cucumbers, hot dogs and chorizo. Never, ever had I considered a fish cake! Well my friends, it was good down to the last bite. The fish cake was far fresher than I had expected, and the Greek Sauce was amazing. The girl who worked there was saying that the owner refused to sell the recipe to a few distributors… Good for him because he’d be a bizzionaire if he did.

When Mike comes town to Jersey to visit his in-laws, it will be the first place I take him. The best thing is that like all places in this area, it is BYOB! Now, since I was by myself and it was a Sunday afternoon, I declined. That would have looked awesome, me stumbling down the streets of New Jersey with hot dog and beer breath. Line up ladies!!!

I hope you enjoyed my maiden post… much more to come!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Janelle permalink
    May 2, 2010 7:33 pm

    Great post Tim……although I would like you to take me there first before Mike considering I am your wife!!!

    • May 2, 2010 7:38 pm

      Sam says I get first rights. Her words exactly: the blog owner trumps wife.

    • May 2, 2010 7:47 pm

      Hilarious! Thanks for the first post Tim, and for taking the hit and trying the fish cake combo before I braved those murky waters. I have to be honest, your post was the best b-day gift you could have got me. We’ve still got that “good for one hot dog with Mike” coupon you won in the Yankee Swap.

      • Tim-O permalink*
        May 2, 2010 8:26 pm

        I love how my wife wants to go to a BYOB Hot Dog Joint, rather than a 5 star restaurant. I love you honey!!!

  2. Andy permalink
    May 2, 2010 7:50 pm

    I don’t mind taking sloppy thirds.

  3. brooklynalex permalink*
    May 2, 2010 11:12 pm

    Alright Tim! Welcome to the fold! I’ve learned from Hawk Krall’s drawings that the fish cake/hot dog combo seems to be a Philly thing. glad you found the combo in NJ!

  4. playwrightguy permalink*
    May 3, 2010 8:04 pm

    Nice writeup, Tim–and welcome! Taking on the fishcake/hot dog combo makes you (in my mind, anyway) the undisputed Evel Knievel of this board. I don’t know that I would have ponied up to that abomination.

Trackbacks

  1. Earning a Doctorate in Smokeology « The Hot Dog I Ate
  2. Ljúffengur Íslensk Pylsur! « The Hot Dog I Ate

Leave a Reply

