Skip to content

Horror Music and Tido’s Junkyard Dogs

May 16, 2010

I was waiting all week for Saturday to come.  The plan was to get together with my buddy Mike in NJ to record some music for an indie horror film.  Obviously this would work up an appetite.  There are plenty of places to get food in town, as well as neighboring New Brunswick where Rutgers University (my former stomping grounds) is located.  When it comes to heart stopping sandwiches Rutgers is the place.  I think it’s been 7 or 8 years since I’ve eaten at the Grease Trucks.  My favorite sandwich was the Fat Mr. C which consisted of gyro meat, cheese steak, hot sauce, french fries, and possibly marinara on a hoagie roll.  Aahhhh, those were the days…when you could order one of those, a giant Arizona iced tea, and a pack of smokes at 2am.  Soooo…seeing as how that would probably stop my heart now, I suggested that we try a hot dog place on Easton Avenue instead.  Yeah, I know.  Not that much healthier.

Mike's wall of amps set-up. Loud music makes him crave hot dogs.

 I had seen Tido ‘N His Junkyard Dogs before but never stopped to get a dog.  Mike was game; after some preliminary discussion of the music it was time for lunch.  His incredible nerve-shattering and terrifying walls of sound could wait for the ingestion of encased meat. 

The tiny Tido's in Rutgers scarlet red.

We stepped inside and the phrase ‘three’s a crowd’ came to mind.  This is because when a third person entered the space the two of us had to shift around to accomodate him.  No indoor seating.  If you stand at the counter and lean back on your heels you hit the beverage cooler behind you.  I ordered a Hot Diggity Dog which was topped with cheddar cheese, spicy sport peppers, hot sauce, and cajun seasoning.  I also got a Tido’s Top Dog which is topped with homemade chilli, crispy bacon, cheddar cheese, scallions, horseradish, mustard, and celery salt.  I think there might have been a choice between Sabrett’s all-beef and Tido’s Brand beef and pork.  I didn’t actually make a distinction so I think I may have gotten the Sabrett’s.  Mike got one of the Big Dog sandwiches; of the various kinds he ordered the Italian sausage which is sweet Italian sausage, sauteed peppers, onions, and potatos stuffed into pizza bread.

Top Dog and the Hot Diggity

Mike politely declines to let me take a picture of him stuffing his face with his behemoth of a sandwich. Instead he steps aside so that a blog photo can be properly taken.

First, I will say that Mike highly enjoyed his sandwich.  He might have even finished it too.  Mike has the craziest metabolism I’ve ever seen and probably burned off the calories walking back to the car.  I admire his eating skills.  Second, my lunch was fine.  The dogs were ok.  I think (because I wasn’t watching) that my dogs were boiled or steamed even though there was a grill behind the counter.  I did see them put the Italian sausage on there.  I’m not a big fan of whiz (also refer back to John’s take on whiz in the previous post).  I also didn’t taste any horseradish or scallions on the Top Dog.  The buns were also just regular no-frills.  But hey, whatever!  I ate a couple of dogs for lunch and it was a beautiful day.  People kept coming in and buying lunch so it must do well.  I imagine it also does well for college students on a budget as well as college students who are full of Molson Ice or Natty Light.  If anything, I thought the dogs were quite photogenic as well!

Something catches Mike's attention on the roof while I decide to be a jackass.

The back end of a Caddy...get it? Junkyard? Sure why not!

We balanced out this meal by getting sushi for dinner.  But it was a great day.  With bellies full of dogs, sausages, potatos, cheese and bacon we headed back to the recording lair and made the scariest music anyone has ever made anytime ever. 

Tido ‘N His Junkyard Dogs  139 Easton Avenue, New Brunswick NJ

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Milkbone permalink*
    May 17, 2010 10:32 am

    The dogs were very photogentic. Almost too good looking, like they were in a display case. I know there are fans of wiz somewhere but I’m not sure they read this blog, though now I’m curious.

    • Milkbone permalink*
      May 17, 2010 10:33 am

      “photogenic” even…

Trackbacks

  1. Attention America: Celebrate July 4th with German, Jewish, and Fireman Dogs! « The Hot Dog I Ate

Leave a Reply

