Skip to content

Epiphany at Mustard’s Last Stand

June 15, 2010

My cousin Scott is a student at the University of Colorado at Boulder.  When I told him about this blog, he told me about the wonderful things people do with sandwiches over there.  He also realized that there are some good hot dog joints and wanted to report about them.  The idea of another family member doing some HD blogging got me giddy and I sent the young explorer off on assignment.  In between his studying, partying, partying, and studying, he found time to put together his first post.  I believe he had his first experience with a RGD.  I’m so proud!  So here it is…Enjoy!

I have never written or read a hot dog blog. I’ll admit it. In fact I don’t read blogs period. Its not that I have anything against them, I just never got into it. But when I heard about the Hot Dog Blog I decided I had to write something. I live in Boulder, Colorado, a town known for the University of Colorado, weed, running, snowboarding, hippies, and most importantly food. The food in Boulder is simply awesome. No other way to describe it. Everyone here is always looking to be the best at what they make, and to edge out the competition. Even the food in the cheap/student part of town has yearly cook offs and competitions to establish who the best is. So when I wanted to go for the best hot dog in Boulder, it was not that hard for me to find what many people insist are the “best hotdogs on the front range.” It is called Mustard’s Last Stand, and it’s located at the exact heart of Boulder, on Broadway and Marine.

A beautiful sight! There are mountains too!

The first thing you think when you walk into Mustard is “Whoa. Chicago.” This place does not try to be  a “Boulder” food joint. Its roots are in Chicago, and it makes that known form the moment you enter. Written on every inch of wall and ceiling are facts about the Chicago hot dog scene, and Chicago in general. Even the guy that takes orders talks with a thick Chicago accent. Mustard claims it uses the same top notch Vienna beef used in Chicago dogs. I couldn’t really vouch for that though since the last time I ate a hotdog in Chicago was about three years ago (and it was a corn dog). Anyway on to the food. I ordered the Chicago-style dog, with hot peppers, ketchup, mustard, and relish. They offer more but I am trying to watch the reflux. It came with fries too.  [I should interject here and note that I have informed Scott, a new student of tubular delicacies, that Chicago-style dogs are actually ‘dragged through the garden’ with mustard, neon green relish, onions, tomato wedges, sport peppers, a pickle spear, and celery salt.  He replied something along the lines of how he lives near the place and will be going back several times to give it a try.]

Scott begins his new love affair.

Now it has been some time since I had a hot dog from a true hot dog place. And the moment I took a bite I was shocked. I do not really know how to describe the taste except for rich and juicy with a slight hickory aftertaste. Awesome. I downed it in about 2 minutes, plus another minute for the fries, which were good but nothing to brag about.

Chicago Pride

Next year I am living two blocks from Mustard, and its safe to say I will be coming back for more. A lot more. Besides the vast array of hotdogs the word on the street is that the burgers are also top notch. So if you are ever in Boulder and are looking for a good dog, Mustard is a sure bet.

Mustard’s Last Stand:  1719 North Broadway Street, Boulder CO 80302

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 16, 2010 7:11 pm

    Alex, let Scott know his first post was a winner! We’d be happy to have another blogger along for the ride, though he would have to give up putting ketchup on his Chicago dog.

Leave a Reply

