Skip to content

Friends of the Dog Visit Tahiti

February 22, 2011

In the past month or two I mentioned this blog to my friend and colleague, Jennifer.  After being told I have too much time on my hands, I think she became intrigued.  We talked a bit about her time in Chicago and the great food that’s offered there.  She and the mrs. usually take some pretty kick ass vacations, so I let her know that she could take pictures of hot dogs any time she wanted and send them to me.  After a recent trip to French Polynesia, she returned and told me she found some hot dogs and documented it for me.  So here’s one place in Tahiti that you can find some hot dogs.

Market in Papeete

Jennifer did not sample the dogs but did take the time and risk of looking like a complete foodie-tourist by taking a photo.  Her brief description is thus: “These pictures are from the open market in Papeete, which is on the island of Tahiti, and the capital of French Polynesia.  I believe that horrible looking sauce is Thousand Island dressing.” 

Tahiti dogs with mystery sauce

Buy your dogs at Patisserie Chez Francis

Jennifer also informed me that French Polynesia has a whopping 100% value added tax on basically everything.  So double the price you see listed above for the total cost of a Tahitian hot dog with mystery sauce.  Besides taking pictures for us, she did some other slightly less intense activities, like swimming with sharks.  Thanks for thinking of us on your vacation Jennifer!

Patisserie Chez Francis at Papeete Market   Rue Du 22 Septembre, Papeete, French Polynesia

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2011 8:50 am

    Normally I might have criticized Jennifer for not being courageous enough to sample the dogs. However, I just returned from the US Virgin Islands and after I finally found someone who sold hot dogs, I didn’t want to take the chance and eat one. They looked too old and unappetizing.
    Good job, Jennifer.

  2. March 1, 2011 10:26 am

    Way to look out for number one, Jennifer! For me, mystery sauce is just one-off from that most delicious of condiments, club sauce. If you don’t get the reference (but I’m sure you do Alex) then this link may help http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hKj36RO3XeY

Trackbacks

  1. Friends of the Dog Visit South Africa « The Hot Dog I Ate

Leave a Reply

