Skip to content

Bud’s Famous Hot Dogs

July 20, 2011
by

Seems like I’ve been running into a recurring theme for why a HDJ starts up–the economy takes a nose-dive, a hard-working person loses their job, and so begins their entrance into serving up some mean encased meats.  That was the story of two HDJ owners I hung with today, Carl (the owner of Fred’s Franks in Wakefield, MA) and Rob (the blogger at The Hot Dog Truck); it’s also the story of Bud at Bud’s Famous Hot Dogs in San Clemente, CA.

Now I don’t typically do a post about a place I’ve never visited but I received an email from a representative of YoDog Marketing explaining that they had found a HDJ that needed some help advertising its dogs, so I couldn’t turn my back on them.  It’s all too often that I come across a stand I’ve never seen before, settle down and have one of the most amazing hot dogs of my life, and then return a few months later only to find a shuttered building or an empty parking lot.  To keep that from happening to Bud’s, YoDog has been helping him to get started on a facebook page, Twitter feed, and videos highlighting his dogs, like the Chicago Dog below:

I’ve always got respect for someone who tries and succeeds to bring a Chicago-style dog to locales well outside of my favorite metropolitan city, so kudos to Bud for bringing the vinegar-and-salad deliciousness to the residents of San Clemente.  Best of luck to Bud & his wife, keep up the hard work and good luck in the future!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2011 1:07 pm

    Awesome! It’s great to see Bud finally get the presence he deserves. LoL, it’s funny I have been there twice and both time I ordered cheeseburgers. It was so great the first time, I had to order it a second. I really want to try the Chicago dog as well.

  2. July 20, 2011 2:43 pm

    Glad to see that you were able to feature Bud’s. They are a truly amazing business with great food. I am with Ana. You have to try the Surfer Dog.

Leave a Reply

