Skip to content

Bloggers Unite!

September 30, 2011
by

Waaaay back in July when the rains weren’t pouring from the heavens and you could get a decent tan down at the beach, I heard a story about how one of our fellow hot dog bloggers, Rob Merlino (former hot dog truck owner and blogger) was giving God the middle finger and defying death by eating a hot dog a day.  Only in New England, this bastion of encased meat goodness, would you have two guys who have taken blogging about hot dogs from hobby to day job.  So what does one do when they find they’re faced with competition?  Well, if you’re me then you join forces because, in the words of a very wise and dead man, I’m a lover, not a fighter.

 

Knowing that he was questing for a dog a day I figured he might be looking for a local place he hasn’t visited, so I shot Rob an email and invited him to my favorite local stand, Fred’s Franks in Wakefield.  Minutes later, I received a reply–we had us a date.20110720-011943.jpg

Rob’s been filming hot dog stands for a while now, making little vignettes of the operations of HDJs and posting them at Hot Dog Stories.  Rob described it best when we were discussing the differences between blogs; when we both found out we were English majors in college Rob said something to the tune of “must be that you’re more comfortable with the written word and me with the spoken.”

20110720-011951.jpg

It was great to see the man at his job because Rob really took this all seriously.  In all, he was there for about two hours, setting up different shots, shooting the shit with Carl (the owner/operator of Fred’s Franks) and catching reactions from happy customers.

20110720-011958.jpg

20110720-012006.jpg

And since it was National Hot Dog month, Rob also caught people who were waiting in line and asked them to wish his camera a “happy National Hot Dog month” and “shoot the thumbs.”

20110720-012015.jpg

20110720-012022.jpg

Since he introduced me to a new style of blogging I had to introduce him to something new as well–the schnurble, that most delicious wedding of meats being a link of chorizo and a Pearl all-beef hot dog.

20110720-012030.jpg

This is the image of a man smitten with his past time–shoving links of sausage into his face.

20110720-012036.jpg

Thanks for letting me tag along for the ride Rob and hope our paths cross again in the future!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2011 3:02 pm

    Wow, char grilled dogs, char grilled chirizo nestled in with it, the mention of the great Dick Radatz, then it was ruined by the thought of Mayo on a hot dog. The rules say, no Ketchup allowed after age 18 and no Mayo allowed ever.

    I’ll get there soon and get my Schurnble (sp??) but without the Mayo.

    • September 30, 2011 5:26 pm

      Yank, don’t hate on the mayo–seriously, if you stop by you’ve gotta give it a chance because it’s the perfect blend of spicy and savory.

    • brooklynalex permalink*
      October 1, 2011 12:16 am

      I used to only have mustard on my dogs in the past and then decided to try a ketchup and mustard combo, and loved it. Further, my favorite dog (from a now defunct stand) had a mustard, ketchup, mayo combo. I was astounded something i never thoight would be good on a dog. C’mon yank, you gotta give it a one-time bite just to see.

  2. October 1, 2011 6:56 am

    Mike and Alex, I know I have “issues” and I am working on them one at a time. I was once taken to the Mayo Clinic and refused to enter. I was just afraid what they might try to pull in there.
    I assure you my issues with Mayo go back to early childhood and it’s going to be a tough hurdle to jump past.
    I’ll start my healing process by going to Fred’s and trying one of those amazing looking dogs accompanied with Chirizo and I’ll think about Mayo while I’m eating. Baby steps.
    Keep up the great work guys!

  3. October 2, 2011 11:01 am

    The exclusion of ketchup is specifically stated in the Rules of Hot Dog Etiquette. Mayo is NOT mentioned. Flo’s of Maine has been putting Mayo on dogs for 50+ years and, in the case of the Shnurble, it is the combo of toppings that gives the sandwich that “oomph.” Additionally, chourico is a Portuguese delicacy and Brazilians commonly put mayo on their chourico- so there IS precedent.

    Ketchup on a hot dog is still very frowned upon for those over age 18.

  4. October 3, 2011 5:21 am

    Okay, now you guys are ganging up on me. The Hot Dog Man caught me in a bit of an exaggeration. The rules say nothing about mayo, however my rules are a different matter all together. Also, my apologies for the confusion between chirizo and chouriço.
    I have already admitted to having “issues” and to gang up on me at this point is just cruel.
    I think we should just move on and to do so I have a suggested subject…Squeeze Cheese Product vs. Shredded Cheddar (the Real thing).

    • October 3, 2011 6:35 am

      I think John S. would have something to say about the squeeze vs. shredded, as evidenced by his concern over “meltedy” cheeses in past posts.

      • John S permalink*
        October 12, 2011 12:55 pm

        Squeeze cheez is an abomination that flies in the face of all things natural and sins against the very dog on which it is spread. Go real, go melty, or go home.

Leave a Reply

