Skip to content

Joy Dog at Joy Burger Bar

December 2, 2011

We here at the blog like to search out or stumble upon all kinds of shapes and sizes of hot dogs.  We carefully document our finds with photographs, talk to the people who work at the stand or storefront, jot down information, and then leave all that information sitting on shelf in our homes for god-knows-how-long.  I feel like it’s a talent we’ve cultivated.  I’ve had this particular find sitting in the can for a while, and now it’s seeing the light of day.  The Joy Dog at Joy Burger Bar.

No sanitary concerns at the Joy Burger Bar!

I was wandering around the west village after seeing a documentary about middle aged punk stars living a double life as suburban fathers.  I needed some grub after that and wandered into a noodle shop and found out they only took cash.  I walked up 6th ave and saw a place called the Joy Burger Bar, and decided my appetite for noodles could just as easily be satisfied with a burger.

The place had a retro-classic burger joint look with a little more contemporary style.  You can create the burger of your desires including size, meat or veggie, toppings, sauces, and wheat buns on request.  They were equipped with a flat-top and a proper grill behind the counter.  The prices seemed pretty reasonable and a steady flow of patrons came in to feast. I really loved their motto: The Sauces Make The Difference.  I ordered a maxi sized 8 oz. burger with spicy mayo, chimichuri, sauteed onions, and tomato.  I ordered a side of patatas, which were puffy and soft sweet potato fries served with a side of maple syrup!  The sweet iced tea also had fresh mint leaves in the glass!  I liked this place, with its informal and step-above fast food vibe.

Saucy burger and patatas, with syrup

I was pleased with my combination of sauces and thought the burger was grilled nicely.  It’s definitely a notch above fast food Five Guys type burgers, but not like a steakhouse burger.  But with the amount of fun toppings and sauces you are bound to find something you like.  But Alex, you are saying to yourself by now, this is not The Burger I Ate.  That would be a great blog too, but where in ‘H-E-double hockey sticks’ is the hot dog?  Well, after I ate the burger, and most of the patatas with syrup, I realized that somewhere on the bottom of the menu was a listing for the Joy Dog (which I don’t actually see on the website).  The list of toppings was something I did not think I could resist: tomatoes, potato chips, cheddar cheese, and sauteed onions.  I felt that the right thing to do was to shimmy some food around in my gut and make room for the joy dog.

The portly and jolly Joy Dog

I got my dog and knew this would be tough.  The sandwich was a lot more girthy than I thought it would be, and this had the potential to cause a mess all over the place.  But then I realized I don’t have anything to prove to anyone and began turning my head at various angles to figure out how to stuff this in my face.  The dog was split down the middle and I believe was grilled on the flat-top.  The bun also had a nice char and the toppings were an interesting mix.  I’m not a huge fan of tomatoes on dogs, but the dog itself was flavorful enough to provide a good contrast to the mild veggie.  Cheddar and sauteed onions also provide salty and sharp flavors, and I like the crunchiness of chips on the dog.

I thought that there probably didn’t need to be so much bun and deep layer of toppings, and it reminded me of my Chilean dog experience.  But I enjoyed the taste overall, and was a great surprise to come across on a fun night.

Joy Burger Bar   361 6th Avenue, NYC

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 5, 2011 8:15 am

    Another place for my “Bucket List.” I’m going to have to live to be about 130 years old to eat at all the places I have planned. Thanks Alex!

  2. March 26, 2012 8:37 am

    this is the dummest a most nasteyest place ever hair in food

Leave a Reply

