Skip to content

A blog milestone with Beav’s Long Boom Dogs!

January 21, 2012

That’s right people!  We have officially reached 200 posts!  Feel free to celebrate in your own fashion.  If you’re new to this blog, you have 199 more posts to check out.  But let me get on with it, shall I?

I keep scouring the interwebs looking for new dogs or HD stands to try out in the Poconos area when we get away from the city.  I tried out Dave’s Hot Dog House in the past but am very much a fan of hunting for new stuff.  And the internet led me to a place with the great name Beav’s Long Boom Hot Dogs in East Stroudsburg, PA.  Who is Beav and what the hell is a long boom?  While we were spending the holidays nearby, I knew I had to bring Ali and her family to Beav’s and figure out what a long boom tastes like.

We had the perfect plan: stuff our faces with hot dogs and then go bowling next door.  I was joined by Ali, her brother Dean, and his sons Dean Mike and Marc.  These are three eating machines and I knew they had the potential to demolish whatever Beav’s had to offer.

Ooooooh, that's a long boom!

When we walked in, it became apparent that a long boom is a big ass crane!  I should know this since I love watching extreme construction TV shows.  After seeing different cartoons around the place of a beaver wearing a construction hat,  I made the assumption that this was the beav that operated the long booms.  More on that later.  Our first job was to figure out what we were going to eat.

Marc is pleased with the menu

Beav’s has snappy all-beef flavorful hot dogs, but I’m not exactly sure how they cook them.  They had a sheen to them which made me think deep fry, but they didn’t have that deep fry flavor.  I also saw some rollers but no dogs on them.  My  bet is that there was a flat-top in the back.  Dean Mike ordered a 3 Cheese Dog, Dean got the Chili Cheese Dog, and Ali got a basic with mustard and ketchup.  I thought I would pig out but decided to just order the Reuben Dog and the BBQ Dog.  Marc on the other hand, well, he really went for it.

"I'm only doing this for you, Alex!"

BEHOLD…Beav’s Long Boom 15 inch hot dog!  Here’s a quick backstory on Marc: he is a 14-year old freshman who plays football and wrestles on the varsity team in high school.  Marc is an incredible wrestler, but even more important, a really amazing guy, because he gave 110% to providing me some great stuff for the blog.  The Long Boom is like a NJ Italian dog, but available in both pizza bread and Italian roll.  Marc went with the latter, and also upped the man-quotient with chili as an extra topping.  He might still be a weenie wagger as well, because I only saw him put ketchup on there.  Then the most incredible thing happened…this 170 lb. machine absolutely leveled this dog.  No scraps, no scene of the crime, nothing…IN A TOTAL OF 6 MINUTES!!  ARE YOU KIDDING ME?!?!  Marc displayed one of the most incredible feats of eating I’ve seen in a long time, and earned a special place in my heart that day.  Dean Mike, in his own flash of brilliance, suggested we put a fork in front of the Long Boom to get an idea of the scale we’re dealing with.  Awesome!

Yeah, he ate all of that.

The journey begins with the first step.

Dean Mike, himself an awesome high jumping swimmer and amateur vinyl collector, revealed that he doesn’t really like hot dogs that much.  He did, however, like the 3 Cheese Dog he ordered, which is topped with swiss, cheddar, and mozzarella.

Dean also jumped in and got himself a Chili Chese Dog, with just the right amount of sloppy.

Ali also stepped up to the plate and got herself a Basic with ketchup and mustard.  My Reuben was cheesy and tangy, and the BBQ dog was topped with sauce, vidalia onions, and cheese.  I love my BBQ sloppy and covered in sauce, so I was very happy.

His and hers

The dogs also had a curious shape to them.  If you look closely at the photos, it looks like one end was not tied off from other links.  I think Ali suggested that maybe they take their 15″ dogs and chop them in half for the smaller dogs.  This doesn’t affect the taste, and gives it a unique shape.

The team poses in triumph!

I’m not usually one for small talk when I go out to eat, but I had to ask the cook about the Long Boom.  He said that he was the one that operated the boom, and I can’t remember his name unfortunately, so let’s just call him Beav.  Beav was a really nice guy and was excited to find out that I write about my adventures with hot dogs.  He confirmed that Dave’s is his competition, but I hope that they both do well.  I don’t think I can take sides in a hot dog battle, but I look forward to having some really great, solid dogs when we head out to the Poconos!

Beav’s Long Boom Hot Dogs  212 Eagle Valley Mall, East Stroudsburg PA

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2012 7:18 am

    happy 200th, buddy and kudos to Marc–that kid is a natural!

  2. January 26, 2012 12:22 pm

    Happy 200 posts guys!

    Always enjoy reading the articles from friendly competition.

    Signed-

    dogsontheroad.blogspot.com

    • brooklynalex permalink*
      January 27, 2012 4:38 pm

      Thanks Hot Dog Guy! See you on the playing field!

  3. The Beav permalink
    February 9, 2012 7:44 am

    Thank u for the great review….We are having a hot dog eating contest on April 14th . We would love it if you ALL could attend.

    You can contact me on 570-856-9145.

    • brooklynalex permalink*
      March 17, 2012 6:41 pm

      Hey Beav! Unfortunately i know that none of us are going to be available at that time, and we won’t be able to travel to PA. Hope the contest goes well!

  4. Simmons permalink
    February 12, 2012 3:44 pm

    Hey,

    On our trip to the east coast from Surprise, AZ (Nov 11) we stopped for that long boom hot dog at Beav’s. It was the best. We have great dog places here, but that had to be the best dog ever. Even the fries were great! We may travel in for the dog eating contest.

Leave a comment